Early Settlement of the Cowichan Valley
This gallery allows visitors to experiencer early [pioneer life in the Cowichan Valley. It includes exhibits about the railway, Prince of Wales Fairbriedge Farm School, agriculture, Mt. Sicker Copper Mine, a 1912 home and commercial establishments. There is also a feaure on Charles Hoey, VC and his brother, Trevor.
Filled with exhibits that allow visitors to experience early pioneer life in the Cowichan area, it includes the Home of 1912, as well as commercial, recreational and agricultural displays. The Railway display in this gallery helps to illustrate the story of how Sir John A. Macdonald participated in the establishment of a train station in Duncan.
This gallery was named in honour of Jack Fleetwood, a well-loved local historian who made an enormous contribution to the preservation of history in the Cowichan Valley.